How to Pray When You’re Desperate to Hear God’s Voice

[This is part of the Hearing God's Voice series.]

desperate daysI don’t know about you, but for me I am usually desperate to hear God’s voice when I am seeking His direction. We cannot discount the power of prayer during those times. I sure don’t want to miss Him or be deceived! The following is a sampling of what I do to build my faith and talk to God concerning His will for my life. I put scriptures before me that remind me that He is leading me and I pray those. I pray what the verse actually says, which is bolded below:

You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore. Psalm 16:11 NKJV

Father, You have promised to show me the path of life. I thank You that You are at my side.

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye. Psalm 32:8 NKJV

You have said that you will instruct me and teach me the way I should go. You are my Guide, and You’re guiding me.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. James 1:5 NKJV

I need Your wisdom, Father. You promised to give me an abundance of wisdom if I only ask, and I’m asking now.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV

I trust You, Lord, with all that is in me. I’m not even going to worry about those things I don’t understand. You are directing my path as I acknowledge You.

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. Matthew 7:7-8 NKJV

I’m going to ask, seek and knock, Father. I’m asking and seeking You now, knocking on Your door. And You said I will receive, I will find and the door will be opened. Lord, open the doors that pertain to Your will for my life and shut any others. 

Summers Beauty Fades Into The Golds Of AutumnTo him the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice; and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them; and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. Yet they will by no means follow a stranger, but will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers. John 10:3-5 NKJV

You are my Shepherd; I am Your sheep. I clearly hear, know and follow Your voice, Lord; I flee from the voice of the stranger. I take You at Your Word. In Jesus’ name. Amen!

What scriptures do you like to pray to receive God’s direction?

Was this post helpful to you? Consider sharing it and don’t forget to subscribe!

Photo credit: ro_buk [I'm not there] and Andreas-photography (Creative Commons)
8 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent advice for hearing God’s voice. I want to adopt your methods to my own prayers to hear from God. I claim as a life verse, from Psalm 25, “Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your path. Guide me in your truth and teach me. For you are God my savior and my hope is in you all day long.” For me it would go well with the verses in your methods.
    Thanks for sharing and inspiring me.
    I’d be flattered if you’d check out my blog at http://stevesawyer.wordpress.com I think you would like and relate to some of my own thoughts on walking in the footsteps of Jesus.
    Thanks,
    Steven Sawyer

    Reply

  2. CORRECTION TO LAST COMMENT. My correct blog address is http://stevensawyer.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mary on August 20, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Thank you for this.

    Reply

  4. GREAT!!! Exactly what I needed to read/pray tonight! Praising God for His Word!!!! :) Thank you for sharing them! :)

    Reply

  5. Thank you. This prayer is exactly what I’ve been seeking. May God continue to bless you and keep you.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

